Fast charging is not practical :-(

If you own a Electrique or any of the other PSA range of vehicles then look here for your answers and post your questions or general views here
arsharpe

Fast charging is not practical :-(

Postby arsharpe » Fri Jun 01, 2007 7:13 pm

As a newbie I had great hopes for fast charging. Now having convinced myself that it is not so practical, I have descended to the depths of depression :-)

Well not quite ;-), but it was a bit disappointing that even with everything as perfect as it can be (e.g. fast recharge stations at just the right point, immediate recharge, etc ....) it looks like my Berlingo could only average about 25 mph over a long distance.

See Excel or html spreadsheet for in depth calculations.

I guess this is what happens after the honeymoon period is over ;-) Never mind, my Berlingo and I will still stay together until death do us part.

Regards,
Rob

ChrisB

Postby ChrisB » Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:00 pm

Fast charging in my books never that great, over stresses the batteries and generally you'll never get the same performance you'll get from a good charge at the correct rate, well thats from my own experiance on lead acids and sealed LA's, small nicads.
These safts might be different but ??????

Also I can imagine that fast charging is never going to be as efficiant as slower charging as more heat is generated.

ChrisB
I reject reality and substitute my own !!!!!!

arsharpe

Postby arsharpe » Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:31 pm

Yes, I did have similar concerns, but I was hoping that I could get ride of the Prius or the gas gusling Mondeo (oops that slipped out, sorry) :oops:

As most green (and real world) issues seem to compromises, I was thinking it might be an acceptable one.

Ah well, I suppose it is worth installing fast charge cable (because the cable installation is the most expensive part) ready for better batteries,etc.

Regards,
Rob

ChrisB

Postby ChrisB » Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:44 pm