Help with thesis idea

General BVS related area
Night Train

Help with thesis idea

Postby Night Train » Sun Aug 31, 2008 9:47 am

Hiya,

I am studying the Architecture, Environment and Energy MSc at the Centre For Alternative Technology and I need to present a Thesis subject very soon.

My last idea was discounted as I defeated the object of a thesis in my presentation Q&A.

What I would like to do is to look at a transport related theme but I am getting stuck on the sort of question to ask. It also need to not be too big a question as I only have 14,500 words to fit it into and I have to do the primary research while working full time.

I am keen on looking into EV issues so I may ask a lot of research questions here too. I am tending towards issues of energy and resources rather then any mechanical aspects of the vehicles themselves.
Energy storage
Car to grid
Materials resources for batteries
Grid supply for battery charging
Charging/battery changing for journey range

Any suggestions for Thesis questions would be welcome.

Thank you.

nino500

Postby nino500 » Sun Aug 31, 2008 3:45 pm

Hi,

How about the question of whether it is more energy efficient to keep an old ICE car on the road or to build a new EV, bearing in mind the energy required to manufacture the steel components etc. ?

Or, maybe, whether to build new or convert old vehicles?

Just a couple of thoughts that sprang to mind. Is that the kind of question you are looking for? If not, perhaps you could narrow it down with an example. What was your original question, which was discounted?

Nino.

geekygrilli

Postby geekygrilli » Sun Aug 31, 2008 7:37 pm

I think Nino has some great ideas, I would have love to have done some thing like this as a thesis or disertation (I did do a 5000 word project of whether wind farms are a worth while investment - but that was 10 years ago)

I'd be very interested in reading a thesis looking at the following:-