rsoulby

what will this motor perform like?

Postby rsoulby » Tue Oct 19, 2010 8:30 pm

been givin a motor from a Lark 4 mobility scooter, 12v the writing on it says
Orthokinetics inc what controller would you recomend and throttle system thanks

ex925

Re: what will this motor perform like?

Postby ex925 » Sun Nov 14, 2010 10:45 am

Does the writing on the motor give any other details than just 12v.?
Anything like "xxxWatts" or similar?
How big and bulky was the mobility scooter?
Any chance of you acquiring the throttle and wiring from the scooter?
(A small, (box of cigarettes-size?) aluminium or plastic box which is part of the wiring is probably the controller)

I'm not an expert, but I guess that if the motor could propel a mobility-scooter plus rider, then -
With suitable gearing, it might assist sufficiently on a home-made two-wheeler, provided there were also pedals, BUT....
To what use were you thinking of putting this motor?
Also, any idea what size battery (how many amp-hours) was fitted to the original scooter?

I have built a few electric-assisted bicycles from scrap parts, and have enjoyed the exercise, however...
I have never got enough performance out of one 12v. motor to be truly practical
(even allowing for my probably inefficient drive-trains, also all home-made from scrap)
By contrast, I was given a proper EAPC, a "Yamaha Easy", which had no batteries, a while back
This originally used a 24v. 15 amp-hour Nimh battery-pack, with a solid-state controller, and a 4-speed hub-gearbox
2 12v AGM batteries, 24v. in series, from a chinese electric-scooter, restored some life to this efficient EAPC
Given a bit of pedalling, it went well..... (until I overloaded the motor at 50amps / 36volts)
All the best
Ed

dazarooney

Postby dazarooney » Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:42 pm

ex925 wrote:Does the writing on the motor give any other details than just 12v.?
Anything like "xxxWatts" or similar?
How big and bulky was the mobility scooter?